2016 Summer Olympics in Rio
Rio 2016


Diversifying the Sports Department and Covering Women’s Sports: A Survey of Sports Editors

By Pamela C. Laucella (IUPUI), Marie Hardin (Penn State), Steve Bien-Aimé (Penn State), and Dunja Antunovic (Bradley University)

Published in Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly


This study surveyed sports editors about gender-related issues in hiring and coverage. Although many editors estimate reader interest to be low and do not believe coverage of women’s sports […]

From the Chicago Tribune: Hockey Hall of Fame writer Bob Verdi ‘in a class by himself’

By David Haugh

When the incomparable Bob Verdi used to call the Tribune sports desk to check on his columns, several questions routinely followed.

Self-deprecating to a fault, Verdi liked to ask if his work was running in the back of the section by the tire ads. He would quiz copy editors about Chicago’s breaking […]

From The Fifth Down: FWAA Beat Writer of the Year Award to be named for Steve Ellis

By Mark Anderson

President, Football Writers Association of America

A friend and I were traveling through the West with Steve Ellis back in the early 1990s. We all woke up in Provo, Utah, one morning ready to hit the road. But first we had to wait for Steve to file a Florida State football notebook.


From The Dallas Morning News: Legendary News sportswriter Blackie Sherrod dies at 96

Blackie Sherrod, the greatest Texas sportswriter of his generation or any other, now and forevermore, died Thursday afternoon at age 96.

Sherrod died at his home in Dallas of natural causes, said his wife, Joyce. He had been in hospice care for the past week.

Sherrod was voted Texas Sportswriter of the Year a record […]

O’Neal, Iverson, Izzo part of 2016 Hall of Fame class

By Cameron Stewart | @ThatManCam

Sports Capital Journalism Program

HOUSTON — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 10 members of its class of 2016.

Shaquille O’Neal, Allen Iverson, Yao Ming, Sheryl Swoopes, Zelmo Beatty, Tom Izzo, John McLendon, Darell Garretson, Cumberland Posey, and Jerry Reinsdorf will be […]